What I call true music.

When I look around at the modern day segregation of the sexes, the encouragement by society for you to only value the other sex as a potential partner not a human being with an equal soul, I see nothing but a barrier. Society has trained us not to strive for a deeper connection with those around us but to keep friendships on the surface and promote this culture of division.

Friendship to me is definitely the most incredible part of life; the bonds you form with such amazing people that become irreversible. Connections are like strings on a guitar, when played together you hear such beautiful music but when one snaps under too much pressure the guitar can no longer create that melody.

The most beautiful moments in my life have been with the people I value as my family; like minded people with which I have such a profound connection, so much so that we know each other as family. There have been plenty of times where I have had to be strong for these people so, like the guitar, we can continue playing these extraordinary melodies; I’ve stood there about to break knowing that if I did things would fall apart. Even this want for harmony within our chords strengthened me into the person I am today.

I think we’re missing this in society: the strong unconditional bond and love for one-another that we are born with the capacity to give. There have been people who have watched my interactions with my ‘family’ and said how much they can feel the love that passes through us from one to another. So then when I look out on the world do I feel there are so many of us disconnected. I’ve been in social situations where people haven’t been interested in my friendship but in more primitive interactions which both angered and saddened me; making me ask why are we trained to think that as teenagers that’s how we interact: on a basic, soulless level. Only so when we grow into adults we remain segregated seeking no deeper connection then visiting the pub on a Friday gawping at the unattainable younger girls.

I am so thankful for fighting to integrate myself into a friendship group which I could see was full of real people, not the hollow plastic figures that we see in the media’s portrayal of teenage friendships. Once you find people which surround you with such positive protective energy you’ll understand what I mean when I say you grow together, teaching each other how true human interaction is supposed to unfold.

The happiness I feel when reunited with this family is insurmountable; especially after the distrust in humanity I suffered.ย  So after months of fighting fear and sadness I was waiting to see the people I value most in life, the people who have lights so bright they encompass me, comforting me.

Things like this could never disappoint you, the warmth of those that you hold closest filling your heart and repairing all the damage you have done to yourself. Yet something does not sound right at the moment, our melody is playing faulty and we’ve lost one of our most valuable strings; until that string is restored we will play on with less beauty, waiting for that day to come where our song will play louder and more amazing then it ever was. For now we all wait to hear the song the way it should be played.

What will always bring me the most unbelievable feeling is that this family that I speak ofย  have always felt my warmth and protection, and even call me there metaphorical mother. Yet what they do not know is they have been holding me up for such a long time and have helped me to save myself from that self defeating wolf who has been feeding me fear.

It’s my turn to say thank you. You are what I call true music.

ImageImage

23 thoughts on “What I call true music.

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚ “so, like the guitar, we can continue playing these extraordinary melodies”, loved this part. I feel the exact same way. “Friends are those rare people who ask how we are and then wait to hear the answer.”

    • Thank you so much and thank you for your comment the other day it really motivated me to start writing again. It was really nice for you to bother ๐Ÿ™‚ Literally I have the most amazing friends in the world, they are real people who are full of positivity and love! I just wish there were more people out there like that, but we all have to learn somehow i guess! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • of course I would bother. Your writing is beautiful and not a lot of people have the gift. So you should never stop writing! It’s weird but whenever an idea pops up in my head, I just write it down quick in my notebook.

        I’m glad you have those people who brings that sort of comfort to you, it’s truly rare. But it’s their gain too ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I have that sometimes but I never write it down quick enough, I have a lot of fictional writing but it doesn’t really fit with the theme of my blog. You have such deep questions that you are always asking on your blog. I bet people read your posts and come away asking themselves those very questions ๐Ÿ™‚

      • haha, thank you! *blush*, I just wanted to put out whatever I’m dealing with right now. I don’t know but something about writing what’s happening makes it much more realistic, you know?
        come on, life has no theme! I’m working on a couple of short stories now (fiction too), and there is this little category in my blog which I dedicated it to only fiction. you should do the same, I would love to read your writings !

      • Yeah, writings good as well as its a type of release for all that stuff that goes round and round in your head.

        I might just do that! Might make a change from all the heavy stuff I write haha ๐Ÿ™‚

      • yes, do it!! and I’ll be your first reader ๐Ÿ˜‰
        people usually are scared when writing a story because maybe it won’t carry itself till the end. Or maybe the plot won’t be as strong, but it just writes itself at the end. believe me ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a beautiful post!!! As if I’m reading my own ideas!
    It is so important to look not at a person but into the soul of a person – there is always so much more to discover underneath a shell of social roles, sexes, etc.
    Seeing through and accepting and being a friend is what makes you loved by other people and they respond so thankfully to you!

    I opened up the hardest the most unavailable and secluded souls simply with a friendly unconditional acceptance and an ear to their inner true melody.. and I am playing the most beautiful duet of my life – thanks to that attitude! ๐Ÿ™‚
    You’ve made wonderful points in that post! Thanks a lot for it!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read my posts, it’s so nice when you find like minded people who view life through the same eyes that you do and by making my blog I hoped to show people my philosophy and have them leave asking themselves questions. Thank you for also taking time to comment as it is rare for people to have enough time stretch that tiny bit of positivity to others ๐Ÿ™‚ I look forward to reading more of your blog!

      • Likewise! ๐Ÿ™‚ And thanks for following me, your site was a nice discovery!

        Oh i know, the comments… haha, people hardly have time to shed a comment ))) Most of my ‘fans’ usually simply text ‘cool post, Sofia’ ๐Ÿ˜€

        But i’m just starting out and happy to connect with like minds as well:)

    • That is more than alright!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m just happy you’ve taken the time to look at my pieces, let alone find them inspiring ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I’m finding that the people who are following my blog are somehow exactly the people I want to be following myself!

        Out of interest, how did you find me? Is it the tags? I’m new to this and could do with knowing how to seek out like-minded bloggers ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Just through writing certain tag words into the topics bar and scrolling down through peoples posts and then you come across a few people that seem interesting. I know, I spent a lot of time almost networking to find like minded people that I know would be interested in my blog as much as I was in theirs ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments

